Using APOC Procedures on an Embedded Database from Java

I'm a novice to Neo4j, but have familiarity with graph databases. I've created a simple Java app that creates and queries an embedded Neo4j database. I'd like to use APOC graph analytics procedures to compute typical graph metrics, and be able to export the graph in JSON format to Gephi to visualize my database. I'm doing this with this small, example database before scaling to a larger database in a GCP environment.

I'm using:
-- iMac running macOS V10.15
-- Java 1.8
-- JetBrains IntelliJ IDE IntelliJ IDEA 2019.2.3 (Community Edition)
-- Neo4j V3.5.8
-- Neo4j Java driver V1.7.5
-- Neo4j Desktop app V1.2.1 (I don't use this because I haven't been able to get it to read the contents of my embedded database)

My head is spinning from having read blog posts, Neo4j Community questions & answers, StackOverflow questions and answers, and Neo4j documentation, all of which appear to my untrained eyes as not self-consistent. I'm really confused!

My simple questions are:
-- How do I call an APOC procedure from a Java app?
-- Do I need to install a Neo4j server to gain access to the APOC procedures from a Java app?
-- Do I need to include Maven dependencies to build my Java app?

Could you please either point me to documentation that answers my questions or some source code of a simple Java app that built a graph database and applied APOC procedures to its contents?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Ciro Pinto-Coelho

I wonder why you want to use embedded instead of a "normal" deployment.

Regardless on the "why" you do have 2 options for using APOC functionality in embedded. Both require to have

<dependency>
    <groupId>org.neo4j.procedure</groupId>
    <artifactId>apoc</artifactId>
    <version>3.5.0.5</version>
</dependency>

as a dependecy in your project.

Option 1: registering procs