UNION and sort? (also, property queries where no relationship exists)

Hello,

I'm new to neo4j and love it so far, but I'm having a little trouble with more complicated cypher queries. Currently I have a node relationship like:

(user:User)-[:MEMBERSHIP]->(:Group)<-[:MEMBERSHIP]-(group_member:User)

I'd like to:

1. Find all User nodes where there is NO relationship between the "user" Node and "group_member" Nodes (ie, they are not in any of the same groups), and also filter by certain properties of the "group_member" Nodes. (I'm having a hard time figuring this one out)
  2. Find all User nodes where there is a specific relationship between the "user" Node and "group_member" Nodes, and also filter by certain properties of the "group_member" Nodes. (I have this subquery working, so I don't need help here).
  3. UNION 1 & 2 and then execute a fairly complicated sort and limit.

Of course if there is a way to query 1 & 2 in the same "MATCH/WHERE" that would be preferred but I'm not seeing a way to do this.

Any pointers in the right direction would be awesome!

1. would something like this work? Strategy: find user1 node, and the list of all users to check against, then find all users who you can't reach user1 through any group node?

MATCH (user1:User {name:"bob"}),(user2:User)
WHERE NOT (user1)-[:MEMBERSHIP]->(g:Group)<-[:MEMBERSHIP]-(user2)
AND g.name='filter me in' // group property restriction
return user2.name

Do you have a small test set you could share? (create statements for test set would help)

Thank you for this Joel! I will play with it and let you know how it goes.

Yes, this code is helpful! Thank you.

So right now these two queries are working:

MATCH (user1:User {user_id:166}),(user2:User)
WHERE (NOT (user1)-[:MEMBERSHIP]->(:Group)<-[:MEMBERSHIP]-(user2)
AND distance(user1.location, user2.location) < 20000)
RETURN user2 AS user
MATCH (user1:User {user_id:166})-[:MEMBERSHIP]->(:Group)<-[user2_rel:MEMBERSHIP]-(user2:User)