Relationships can't have a "$" in the name

I can't show one node funding another with a specific amount of money because I can't have a "$" symbol in the relationship name!? Also, I'm not allowed to start a relationship name with a number for any reason? I'm still a novice neo4j but this seems to be a show stopper for some (many?) graph database projects.

this is described at Naming rules and recommendations - Cypher Manual

Hello @bruce

Can you share a bit more about what you are trying to archive?
You can model something on arrows.app and share the result here.

You can think about these "limitations" as a philosophy, if you can understand how it works you will be able to archive almost anything you want. If not, there is APOC to do more advance stuff.

Relations are the core of Neo4j engine, so they have a little bit less flexibility.

The way you are trying to model your problem will not allow you to ask these simple questions:

Which node are funded by the node x?
How much found has been given by node x?

If you put the money amount in the name of your relation, you won't be able to normalise most of your requests related to your industry. One solution, but not the best, is to name your relations FUNDED with at least one property named value: as an integer.

The $ is probably irrelevant in a database, it's a user concern not the data concern unless you want to express explicitly as part of the data like currency but I would not express it as a part of the amount.

I don't quite get what you want to do, but....

another possibility, is give the relationship a money attribute either as a string or a float.

Maybe something like:

(p:Person {name:'Thomas R. Marshall'})-[:PURCHASE {amount: '$0.05'}]->(product {type:'cigar'})
1 Like

@clem you could certainly do that but then if you want to

match (p:Person)-[r:PURCHASE]->() return sum(r.amount);

then this starts to fail as we are trying to sum a string