Relationship between nodes of same Label

Hi,

I am completely new to GraphDB and just getting my feet wet. My understanding about GraphDB as of now is that, it doesn't have a defined schema and hence it cannot have the Schema level relationship. In GraphDB, we must create relationship between nodes explicitly if we want to. GraphDB eliminates the need for Primary key/Foreign Key constraints and also the JOINs in the query and it stores the relationship of each node separately and hence it is fast(I assume so).

I have a scenario where I need to have a relationship between different nodes of the same label for the same columns. (Eg. Same IP Address). In this case, I assume we need to first create the nodes and then explicitly create relationship between the nodes that has same IP addresses. So, if a node n1 (that is getting created) has IP as 1.1.1.1 and there already exists around 50 nodes with the same IP(1.1.1.1) under the same label, then, my understanding is that, we need to explicitly create relationship between n1 and all the 50 nodes. This will be the way to maintain the relationship as and when a new node is created in a OLTP system(may be MERGE command will be the better option as it will skip the already existing relationships and create new ones only for the new record)

It would be great if anyone can clarify / confirm my above understanding with some sample (if any).

Hi Raja,

welcome to the Community! I hope you enjoy playing around with Neo4j.

Concerning your problem:
I think the questions is: "where do you want to go with your relationships?"

Say there are 50 nodes that have the same IP, do you really want to create 50*(50+1)/2 = 1275 relationships such that every node is connected to every node?

I think what you should rather do is create a node for the IP-Address and connect all the nodes that have this addres to the IP-Address node.

Let's make an example. Say you create 3 nodes like