Populating database from CSV file with relations

I am relatively new to Neo4j and am looking for some help with correctly importing data from a CSV that I have.

I have a csv file in the format seen below. I am trying to create a database where we have 'People' and 'Competence' objects. The first column contains a persons name, and the subsequent columns each contain a competence/skill, where the column header denotes a level of proficiency (i.e beginner, intermediate, etc.)

The resulting graph should then contain objects for each Person, and Competence, without duplicates. There should also be relationships between People and Competences if the competence is present in the CSV row for that person, with a property denoting the skill level.

I know I can of course create the database object by object, relation by relation, but have no desire to do so. I have also read the documentation for loading csvs in cypher but could not quite figure out how to handle relationships in this form. Any help is much appreciated.

I am using neo4j-4.2.0-community with docker.

Screenshot 2020-11-30 at 17.37.56

test.txt (195 Bytes)

I think there's a more elegant way to do this, but not an expert on APOC.

// load skills
CALL apoc.load.csv('skills.csv',{header:true})
YIELD map
CALL apoc.merge.node(["Person"],{name:map.Name}, {}, {}) yield node as person
UNWIND split(map.Beginner,",") as bskill
CALL apoc.merge.node(["Skill"],{name:trim(bskill)}, {}, {}) yield node as nbskill
CALL apoc.merge.relationship(person, "Knows",{}, {level:"Beginner"}, nbskill, {level:"Beginner"}) YIELD rel as brel
UNWIND split(map.Intermediate,",") as iskill
CALL apoc.merge.node(["Skill"],{name:trim(iskill)}, {}, {}) yield node as niskill
CALL apoc.merge.relationship(person, "Knows",{}, {level:"Intermediate"}, niskill, {level:"Intermediate"}) YIELD rel as irel
UNWIND split(map.Expert,",") as eskill
CALL apoc.merge.node(["Skill"],{name:trim(eskill)}, {}, {}) yield node as neskill