My First Try - Modeling and Import CSV Structure

Good day. I've gone through the basic Neo4j and Cypher lessons. However, I have yet to start my first project -- until now. I'm a little rusty on what I studied in the spring. I have a list of employees who travel and work around the world. The employees might speak several languages and have several specialty areas they work in. Here is a sample of the data I want to enter as a graph:

Nodes

Associate
name: string
account#: string

Specialty
specialty: string (most associates will have multiple specialties)

Country

Organization
name: string

HealthCoverage (multiple types per associate possible)
type: string

Language
language:string

(I need to collect proficency level of each language spoken -- should this be a property of the language? Or a property of the SPEAKS relationship?)

Relationships

SPEAKS
SERVES_IN
SERVES_AT
HAS_SPECIALTY
HAS_HEALTH_COVERAGE

A simple query would find all associates with a certain specialty area, speaking French at a level 3 proficiency working in Peru.

Oh, and I'm trying to figure out the best way to set up my .csv file.

Do I list all of the Nodes as columns? Do I use a separate .csv for each node? How do I link them together?

Thanks!

John the Noob

Try this:

Assuming this .csv file structure:

Associate,Specialty,Country,Organization,HealthCoverage,Language,Proficiency

MERGE (a:Associate {name: "XYZ"})
MERGE (s:Specialty {specialty: ["XYZ","ABC"]})
MERGE (c:Country {country: "Peru"})
MERGE (o:Organization {name: "ABC"})
MERGE (h:HealthCoverage {name: "AMX"})
MERGE (l:Language {languages: ["English", "French"], profieciency: toInteger("3")  })

MERGE (c)-[:ORGANIZATION]->(o)
MERGE (o)-[:ASSPOCIATE]->(a)
MERGE (a)-[:SPECIALTY]->(s)
MERGE (a)-[:HEALTH_COVERAGE]->(h)
MERGE (a)-[:LANGUAGES]->(l)

Thank you for your quick reply. That looks good. I appreciate your help and will give it a try a little later.

Have a great day!

John

John,