Load nodes of a densely connected graph

Hi,

I'm very new to neo4j and graph databases (and graph theory in general) so please bear with me if my questions seems basic. I couldn't find a way to solve my issue via search (although it is related to SDN findAll performance and populating entities at depth > 1 - #9 by rkwasnicki).

I'm trying to map the bitcoin lightning network in neo4j, using SDN 6 (via Spring Boot 2.6.x). The network currently consists of roughly 30K nodes and 80K channels (relationships) between those nodes so the overall dataset is rather small. However, the graph is densely connected and you can go from any nodes to any other nodes with only using a few channels (one of the reason to load this in neo4j is to get some better data on this).

@Node("LnNode")
public class GraphNode {

// CREATE INDEX FOR (a:LnNode) ON (a.pubKey)

@Id
    private String pubKey;

@Property("alias")
    private String alias;

@Version
    private Long version;

@Property("capacity")
    private Long capacity;

@Relationship(type = "CONNECTED_TO")
    private Set<GraphChannel> channels = new HashSet<>(4096);
@Data
@RelationshipProperties
public class GraphChannel {

@Id
    @GeneratedValue
    private Long id;

private Long channelId;

private Long capacity;

@TargetNode
    private GraphNode targetNode;

A lightning channel is unidirectional by its nature. When persisting the data I'll add a new channel to Node 1 (channels.add()) that has Node 2 as its @TargetNode.

This works fine when I'm persisting new data. However, when I load a node it recursively loads the complete graph because all nodes are connected to all other nodes.
While the docs do mention this problem specifically and advice to avoid it I couldn't find a recipe how to best deal with this.

When I refresh the data in neo4j I want to fetch the complete graph anyways (to check for new/removed/updated channels and nodes) and it's also fine if it takes a while but currently it justs hangs.