Linking relations between two nodes to a third node

Hi, this was likely addressed before but I am new to graph databases so the answers confuse me.

I am extracting relations from text and want to store the extracted network in neo4j while keeping a pointer back to the text from which the relation came. I have Sentence nodes, as well as Entity nodes. Ideally, I would have relations between Entity nodes, and each relation would point to the Sentence whence it came from - but this is not possible in neo4j.

I read somewhere that I could make additional Relation nodes, so something like:

MATCH (s: Sentence {sentence: "some sentence"})
CREATE (e1:Entity {entity: "something"})
CREATE (e2: Entity {entity: "something_else"})
CREATE (r:Relation {id: xxx})
CREATE (e1) - [:RELATION_FROM] -> (r)
CREATE (r) - [:RELATION_TO] -> (e2)
CREATE (r) - [:APPEARS_IN] -> (s)

But I'm not really convinced - it relies on arbitrary IDs for relations, and also makes visualizations much less intuitive (the entire idea of using a graph database was that it would represent the network of entities natively).

Is there some better way? I also thought of just giving IDs to sentences and storing the IDs as relation attributes (so:

CREATE (e1:Entity {entity: "something"})
CREATE (e2:Entity {entity: "something_else"})
CREATE (e1) - [r:RELATION {sentence_id: xxx}] -> (e2)

But I'm not sure if it's efficient or even possible to then use this to figure out which relation appears in which sentence?

Any help appreciated.

Your :Relation node doesn't need to have an id if it's not useful to you. Sometimes nodes in a graph are just there for grouping purposes, so you could use them for example to traverse to pairs of related entities given a sentence.