Good use of Neo4J? River network database with linear regression on height gages

Howdy! I'm an MS Analytics student at Georgia Tech and a whitewater kayaker and I have a project idea that I'm trying to mesh out. There's a discipline of whitewater kayaking called "Creeking", which, as you might guess, is running creeks and smaller rivers. These are usually not dam released and they run when nature decides they run. There's plenty of USGS data for many of these rivers, with flow and height gages. There's plenty of historical weather data. There's also watershed data, which is pretty easy to find. The website RainPursuit | Chase the Good Flow does a sweet job stitching this data together. What nobody is doing is predicting what will run, where and for how long.

The reason I'm wondering if this should be done in Neo4j is because rivers and streams seem like an obvious example of a network graph to me. Every node is directly affected by only the nodes upstream from it, right? So, in theory, you build a network, for each node you calculate the predicted weather over the desired interval at all points upstream, then you map that back to a live prediction of that point. I'm sure I could skip the network graph and just see how every point effects every other point, but it seems like it would introduce a lot of noise. What do you guys think?

Honestly, this sounds like a perfect use-case to me. However, you are going to run into one very big roadblock: geography. To make this kind of pursuit accurate, you'll need models of all the watersheds, groundwater flow, predicted rainfall, and every little creek-bed and stream in an area. That said, has it been your experience that you can combine information from rain-pursuit, combined with weather forcasts, to gauge if you can hit a specific creek/river? If so, then you can definitely do what you're thinking, both more accurately, and for all streams at once.

Where are you going to get all the raw data?