Deleting older relationships

I'm new to graph and I'm evaluating if neo4j would fit my use case.

I have 2 CSV files as follows:-

1. Persons file (phone number, name columns)
  2. Calls file (callerNumber , recipientNumber, callDate columns).

I anticipate >50million nodes, >20billion relationships)

I have been able to create Nodes using Persons file and Relationships using Calls files through Neo4j admin import.

Challenge comes when deleting relationships for a certain callDate so that I can add newer relationships. It's too/painfully slow for large datasets.
match ()-[r: {callDate:20200101}]->() delete r;

I found out I can't index relationship properties.

Is there a way to optimize this cypher? How could I possibly re-model my CSVs?

Hello @DanielGittx,

Yes, it's possible :slight_smile: This request should work:

CALL apoc.periodic.iterate('MATCH ()-[r:{callDate:20200101}]->() RETURN r', 'DELETE r', {batchSize:1000, iterateList:true})

It deletes relationships by batches of 1000 relationships.

Regards,
Cobra

Hi @cobra,

Thanks much. Indeed the apoc you shared works (I just refractored syntax abit). But it's a bit slow for about 10billion relationships I'm working with(6 months data)

I came across this "db.index.fulltext.createRelationshipIndex" as a way of indexing relationship property.
The index is currently populating hopefully the cypher will gain some speed once done

Nice, happy to hear this :)

The apoc procedure and the index should really speed up your query :slight_smile:

Regards,
Cobra

Just an update...
The indexing process is very slow.

Considering:-

• Database size is 1.2t
    Server configs:-
  • Heap - 230g
  • Page cache - 1.182t

Neo4j Version:-
Neo4j Browser version: 4.0.3
Neo4j Server version: [3.5.15]

It has taken 3hrs to just get to 12% (index populating)

• CALL db.index.fulltext.createRelationshipIndex("callDateRelationship",["CALLS"],["CALL_DATE"], { analyzer: "url_or_email", eventually_consistent: "true" })